Meet Mads Vium Asbjørn

Nordija´s VP Mobile Devices from Denmark

About Mads

Mads is originally from Haderslev, Jutland – the western part of Denmark - but moved to Copenhagen in 2001 to study at the Technical University of Denmark.

Mads has been working for Nordija for over 6 years as a Chapter lead of the Device team and Android developer.

With a Master's degree in Civil Engineering from DTU, Mads has been working in several developer positions at Dansk Telemidicin, Unwire, and has lots of side projects and hobby apps on the App Store and Play Store.

Mads currently lives in Hillerød, north of Copenhagen with his wife, Cecilie, and 3 sons (3 months, 6, and 8 years old).

Mads circle.png

Why and when did you join Nordija?

I was not looking for a new job, but it was by complete coincidence when I met Nordija's previous CTO, Claus, at a party. Claus invited me to a job interview the next week, and I was sold right away, so quit my previous job and started working at Nordija.

Role at Nordija

I’m responsible for the app platform and developer of primarily Android, but also iOS and React. I’m doing system architecture and design, improving processes and workflow, defining and ensuring best practices, team planning, management, and estimations.

What do you enjoy the most about Nordija´s culture?

I like the family culture where we take care of and look after each other. I think that the social aspect is a big part of it - we take any chance we have to celebrate. Besides that, it’s a funny, vibrant, and innovative environment, with lots of challenges and great team spirit.

IMG_20180411_200743 (1).JPG
-VBjTZUQ.jpg
vWs5Xxhg.jpg
IMG_20190606_152117.JPG
IMG_20190914_140824.JPG
20190628_175043.JPG

What do you like to do when you aren’t working? And what are your interests and passions outside of work?

  • My app side projects - I have quite a lot of app projects on the side, so there’s quite a bit of work in maintaining and developing those :-)
  • My family - with a 3 months old baby and two kids on 6 and 8, there’s not much spare time for anything else at the moment, but if there’s time, then running, biking, and fitness.
  • My old house which I’m constantly restoring.
DSC_0129.JPG
DSC_0319.JPG
IMG_20190608_135949.JPG

Looking forward to connecting with you.

Go to top